1376 Piedmont Road San Jose, CA 95132-2427



Phone: (408) 923-1800 Fax: (408) 923-0623

## **Measure K Committee Meeting Minutes**

March 16, 2021

## Meeting Via Zoom

1. The meeting was called to order at 3:34 p.m. Sally Owyang introduced Ginger Jenzen, newest committee member.

Attendees: Christy Boyd, Martin Cisneros, Ginger Jenzen, Sally Owyang, Margot Sandoval, Joshua Quitoriano, and Kevin Franklin

- 2. The January 5, 2021 minutes were reviewed and adopted as read. Motioned by Margot Sandoval, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Christy Boyd.
- 3. A Technology Expense report was presented and reviewed by the committee with the guidance of Martin Cisneros, and Josh Quitoriano. Josh Quitoriano explained the balances and expenses for each category in Technology. As salaries increase, the Technology budget decreases. Some of the contracts are ongoing contracts, and as the designated amount reduces, those contracts/expenses will be transferred to the general account. The funds the district receives is also reduced due to refunds approved for seniors who have applied for a waiver. Martin shared that the need for hot spots for District students are still in need.
- 4. The Committee vacancies were reviewed. Sally Owyang shared an idea to keep future meetings via Zoom as an option for anyone who would like to attend, and make it easier for future committee members. Margot Sandoval commented that there was only one additional CTAB vacancy, not two.
- 5. Josh Quitoriano presented the 2021-2022 Proposed Budget Timeline. He explained the due dates for each deadline. The Business Department is currently in the budget season, preparing to close the current budget and planning the 2021-2022 budget for the District.
- 6. Future meeting dates were reviewed. Margot Sandoval agreed to present the Measure K update to the board at the June 1st meeting.

## Future Meeting:

- June 8, 2021 Measure K Meeting
- June 15, 2021 Board Meeting
- 7. The meeting adjourned at 4:14 p.m. Motioned by Ginger Jenzen, and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Christy Boyd.

Thelma Boac Hugo Jiménez Khoa Nguyen Jai Srinivasan Kansen Chu